60-Day Point Accumulation Suspension 39:5-30 Dismissed

Did you receive a letter in the mail using obtuse statutory language such as “by authority of N.J.S.A. 39:5-30, 39:5-30.8, and N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.1 et seq., Motor Vehicle Commission has scheduled a suspension of your New Jersey driving privilege because you have 12 or more points on your driving record”? If so, you are not alone. Everyday New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, commonly called the New Jersey DMV, issues administrative suspensions to New Jersey drivers for a variety of reasons. These include point accumulation, operating during a period of suspension, misstatement of fact on a drivers license application and out-of-state DWI/DUIs. If you fall under one of these categories, you could be facing a suspension of your driving privileges in New Jersey for an extended period of time. Recently, I appeared on a case just like one of these involving a proposed 60-day suspension for point accumulation. If you or someone you love are facing a similar suspension situation and would like to speak with an attorney, call the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall today at 1-800-509-3333 and receive you complimentary initial consultation. Allow our former prosecutors to deal with the State on you behalf and help you reduce or avoid any suspension that the MVC is seeking to impose on you license.

Trenton License Suspension Lawyers

Recently, I appeared on a Motor Vehicle Suspension hearing in Trenton for a client who was facing a 60-day suspension based on an accumulation of points. This case was particularly complex because the client had actually only accumulated 2 points on his license. However, when he recently handled old tickets stemming from the 1990s in New York, a littany of points were then transferred to his New Jersey Driver’s License, thus placing him over the “12 point threshold”. This is because while some out-of-state tickets may not carry points in that jurisdiction (i.e. New York), New Jersey DMV may still impose points on your New Jersey Driver’s license. Nevertheless,I was able to present a defense for my client and avoid the 60-day suspension altogether. Instead, a one-year probationary period was put in place, by which my client need only avoid a moving violation for the next 12 months.

At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we understand how these suspensions can affect your livelihood and will put our resources to work for you contact our attorneys at 1-800-509-3333 today and start formulating your defense against these types of suspensions.

What Triggers a Persistent Violator Suspension?

Persistent Violator Points SuspensionAn accumulation of 12 or more points on a driver’s license will give rise to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission issuing a Scheduled Suspension Notice for an administrative license suspension. Therefore, pleading guilty to too many point-carrying moving violations can trigger a persistent violator suspension.

Additionally, once a driver is restored from a suspension, they are put on a probationary license for a period of one year. At this time, any moving violation, including those that do not carry points, can trigger a suspension for being a “persistent violator”.

If you’re faced with one of these proposed suspensions, call us at 1 (877) 450-8301. We can help request a hearing and eliminate or reduce the suspension period dramatically.

Speak Your Mind

*