Driving While Suspended 39:3-40 Downgraded to Failure to Show Documents 39:3-29

39:3-40 Charges in New Jersey

In New Jersey, most people consider Driving While Intoxicated (DWI or DUI) to be the most serious non-criminal traffic offense you can be charged with. Most people are mistaken. Equally serious and equally severe in its penalties is New Jersey’s Driving While Suspended laws under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. Charges under this statute vary depending not he circumstances of your offense (number of prior offenses, reason for the suspension, whether there was an accident involving injury, etc.). These penalties include loss of license, periods of incarceration (upwards of 18 months in certain instances), court imposed fines, yearly Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharges (upwards of $3,000.00), and Insurance Premium increases. Clearly, N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 violations are a serious issue that demand the care and attention of a season New Jersey Traffic Lawyer.

The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are former Municipal and County Prosecutors in the State of New Jersey . With over 100 years of cumulative legal experience, our firm has the resources and experience expected of a law firm. If you or someone you love have been charged with Driving While Suspended, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, in New Jersey, contact our offices at 1-800-509-3333.

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 Reduced to Failure to Show Documents N.J.S.A. 39:3-29

Recently, I appeared at a New Jersey municipal court in regards to a Driving While Suspended Offense, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. In addition to the N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 charge, my client was also charged with a Five (5) point Speeding violation, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-98. Through continuous motion practice, I was able to convince the State to amend both charges. Specifically, I obtained a downgrade of the Driving While Suspended charge (over $1250 in fines and surcharges plus potential six month loss of license) to Failure to Show Documents which carried a $129 fine and no suspension of driving privileges, as well as a downgrade of the five point speeding offense (roughly $500 fine) to a no-point violation. This latter amended charge was important because my client had already obtained a high number of points on his driver’s license through previous traffic offenses (ones he handled without my assistance) and was facing an administrative suspension from New Jersey MVC if he received any more points on his license.

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 Lawyer

The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is a firm that frequently handles criminal, traffic and Driving While Suspended Charges in New Jersey. If you or someone in your family are facing a loss of their driving privileges or even jail-time based on a N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 offense, contact our office at 1-800-509-3333. Our firm can be reached 24/7 for your convenience.

Speak Your Mind

*