Man Drove Without License to Post Bail in Unlicensed Driving Case
In a string of bad luck, a Odensburg man was pulled over and arrested for being an Unlicensed Driver, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, in Riverdale, New Jersey. It just so happened that the individual, Michael Calvo-Comacho, who was driving without a license, had just paid a separate bail for a Failure To Appear warrant in Riverdale stemming from an earlier Unlicensed Driver violation. Mr. Calvo-Comacho is now facing two separate charges for being an Unlicensed Driver under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, in Riverdale alone.
Interestingly enough, Mr Calvo-Comacho was actually driving (instead of using public transportation as required absent a license) because he had to head to an Odensburg court appearance for a third and separate Unlicensed Driver, N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 summons. Thankfully for Mr. Calvo-Comacho, he possess a Costa Rican license that, while not absolving him of liability, will act as a mitigating factor when he does eventually appear in court on all three separate charges. For more information please see the following article.
Unlicensed Driver Ticket 39:3-10 New Jersey
In New Jersey, driving without a valid license is prosecuted under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10. Now there are two subsections to this statute: N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(a) and N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(b). N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(a) involves those offenses where an individual’s license has expired after having a valid license in the United States at some point in time. Conversely, N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(b), which was the offense charged in the above matter, involves driving without a license having ever been issued in your name in the United States. For Mr. Calvo-Comacho, his Costa Rican license would put him under the subsection (b), which carries far more severe penalties.
N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 Penalties
The penalties for subsection (a) and (b) differ. Under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(a), the penalties include: up to 60 days in county jail, and up to a $500 fine. Alternatively, N.J.S.A. 39:3-10(b) penalties include: up to 60 days in jail, mandatory minimum of six (6) months loss of driving privileges, and between $200 and $500 in fines.
If you or someone you love have been charged with Driving Without a Valid License or Unlicensed Driver under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall today. Our team of former prosecutors and trial attorneys have the experience and resources necessary to handle your case. For you complimentary initial consultation, contact our office are 1-800-509-3333.