Driving While Suspended: Fines, Suspensions and Jail Time

The penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey can seriously impact your livelihood.

If you’ve received a Driving While Suspended ticket, you need to be aware of the serious consequences that can arise if found guilty of this charge in a municipal court. Driving While Suspended can lead to a loss of license, high fines, and even a mandatory jail sentence for second and subsequent offenses.

Jump to a section below:

Additionally, there are enhancements to the penalties if an accident occurs that results in bodily injury, as well as if the original license suspension was due to Driving While Intoxicated (DWI – N.J.S.A. § 39:4-50). Driving While Suspended can also be a felony charge under N.J.S.A. § 2C:40-26, resulting in a term of imprisonment and a felony record. In any case, our attorneys may be able to reduce or eliminate the penalties associated with your ticket, so call us at 1 (877) 450-8301 and hear how we may be able to help.


What are the Costs of a Driving While Suspended Ticket?

Fines for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey:

Fine for First Offense: $500 + $33 court costs

Fine for Second Offense: $750 + $33 court costs

Fine for Third or Subsequent Offense: $1000 + $33 court costs

Enhanced Fines for Driving While Suspended for Driving Without Insurance (N.J.S.A. § 39:6B-2) or Driving While Intoxicated (N.J.S.A. § 39:4-50)

Fine for First Offense: $1000 + $33 court costs

Fine for Second Offense: $1250 + $33 court costs

Fine for Third or Subsequent Offense: $1500 + $33 court costs


Will I Lose My License for Driving While Suspended in NJ?

Loss of License for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey:

Suspension for First, Second, and Third Offense: 1 day to 6 months (180 days)

Enhanced Loss of License for Driving While Suspended for Driving Without Insurance (N.J.S.A. § 39:6B-2) or Driving While Intoxicated (N.J.S.A. § 39:4-50): Not less than 12 months + 1 day and not more than 30 months


Will I Be Sent to Jail for a Driving While Suspended Ticket?

Jail Time for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey

Jail Time for First Offense: None

Jail Time for Second Offense: At least one (1) day, but not more than five (5) days

Jail Time for Third or Subsequent Offense: Ten (10) days

Enhanced Jail Time for Driving While Suspended for Driving Without Insurance

Jail Time for First Offense: May impose imprisonment for no more than 90 days

Jail Time for Second Offense: Shall impose imprisonment of one (1) to five (5) days, and may impose an additional period of imprisonment of not more than 90 days

Jail Time for Third or Subsequent Offense: Shall impose imprisonment of ten (10) days, and may impose an additional period of imprisonment of not more than 90 days

Enhanced* Jail Time for Driving While Suspended for Driving While Intoxicated or Refusal

Jail Time for First Offense: Not less than ten (10) days, nor more than 90 days; if DWS occurs in a school zone, not less than 60 days

Jail Time for Second Offense: Shall impose imprisonment of one (1) to five (5) days, and shall impose an additional period of imprisonment of not less than ten (10) days, nor more than 90 days; if DWS occurs in a school zone, additional period of imprisonment of not less than 120 nor more than 150 days shall be imposed.

Jail Time for Third or Subsequent Offense: Shall impose imprisonment of ten (10) days, and shall impose an additional period of imprisonment of not less than ten (10) days, nor more than 90 days; if DWS occurs in a school zone, additional period of imprisonment of 180 days shall be imposed

* See N.J.S.A. § 2C:40-26 for additional penalties.

Hire a Driving While Suspended Attorney Near Jersey City, NJ

Driving while suspended or revoked can lead to serious consequences. We have experience handling traffic tickets in every municipal court in New Jersey, including Driving While Suspended tickets in Newark, Jersey City, and Central Municipal Court. Wherever your ticket is from, our powerful firm can help, at a very reasonable cost. Call our experienced attorneys 24/7 at 1 (877) 450-8301 for a free consultation on minimizing the penalties you might be exposed to on your traffic tickets.