N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 Revoked List Charges and MANDATORY Jail Time Avoided
Driving While on the Revoked List or Driving While Suspended, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, is one of the few traffic tickets in New Jersey that carries enhancing penalties upon repeat offenders. Specifically, for third and subsequent offenders, you are facing up to NINETY (90) days in Jail, ten (10) of which are MANDATORY. Moreover, the fiscal consequences jump from $500 to $1,000 for each offense after your second. This increases are in addition to the $750 in DMV surcharges (these surcharges could be as high as $3,000 and the sixth (6) suspension of your driving privileges.
If you or someone in your family were pulled-over and charged with Driving While Suspended, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, call the New Jersey Driving While Suspended Attorneys at 1-800-509-3333. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge and our attorneys may be reached 24/7.
Man Charged with His Fourth and Fifth Driving While Suspended Offenses Avoids Mandatory Jail Time, Loss of License and Thousands in Fines and Surcharges
Recently, we handled a case for a client who was facing two Driving While Suspended offenses, along with a litany of other motor vehicle violations, in a Monmouth County Municipality. On prior cases, without our assistance, this particular client simply plead guilty to Driving While Suspended. As a result, he was facing some of the most severe penalties available under the New Jersey Traffic Code. Specifically, he was facing a mandatory minimum of ten (10) days in County Jail on each offense (which could reach as high as 90 days for each), two separate sixty (6) month suspensions of his driving privileges in New Jersey, over $2,000 in court fines, and an additional $1,500 in DMV imposed surcharges. After going through extensive plea negotiations and discovery procedures with the municipal prosecutor, we were able to work our a negotiated plea whereby three of the charges would be dismissed and the two Driving While Suspended charges, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, would each be downgraded to Failure to Exhibit Documents, which carried a $156 fine and nothing else.
Hire a New Jersey Driving While Suspended Attorney
Driving while suspended or revoked can lead to serious consequences. We have experience handling traffic tickets in every municipal court in New Jersey, including Driving While Suspended tickets in throughout New Jersey. Wherever your ticket is from, our powerful firm can help, at a very reasonable cost. Call our experienced attorneys 24/7 at 1 (877) 450-8301 for a free consultation on minimizing the penalties you might be exposed to on your traffic tickets