New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Fines, Community Service, Jail Time
It is a New Jersey State law under N.J.S.A. 39:6B that “every owner or registered owner of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State shall maintain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage” to protect against liability for bodily injury, death or property damage caused by a motor vehicle. Simply put: everyone with a vehicle needs to have liability insurance to drive in New Jersey. Failure to do so will result in a police officer issuing a ticket for Driving Without Insurance – the penalties for which can be very serious.
Read about the penalties for Driving Without Insurance, below, then give one of our attorneys a call 24/7 at 1 (877) 450-8301 to find out how we can help you avoid them.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) Ticket in New Jersey
Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) is one of the most serious traffic offenses in New Jersey and carries a significant license suspension period. A first offense carries a mandatory one (1) year loss of license, a $1000 fine, and community service. Subsequent Driving Without Insurance charges will land a driver in jail for a minimum fourteen (14) days, with a two (2) year loss of license, thirty (30) days of community service, and a fine of up to $5000.
Additionally, after a second- or subsequent offense for Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist), a driver will need to make an application to the Director of the Motor Vehicle Commission for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which may be granted at the discretion of the Director. What this means is that you risk a permanent loss of license if found guilty of Driving Without Insurance more than once.
First-Offense Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) Penalties:
Fines for First Offense: $300 to $1000
Community Service for First Offense: To be determined by the Judge
License Suspension for First Offense: One (1) year loss of driving privileges
Jail Time for First Offense: No mandatory sentence
Second- or Subsequent Offense Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) Penalties:
Fines for Second Offense: Up to $5000
Community Service for Second Offense: Thirty (30) days
License Suspension for Second Offense: Two (2) year loss of driving privileges
Jail Time for Second Offense: No mandatory sentence
Allowing Another to Drive Without Insurance (“Allowing” Tickets)
Because of the language in the statute, you could be charged with “Allowing Driving Without Insurance” even if you were not the driver of the uninsured vehicle. Simply allowing someone to drive an uninsured vehicle when you knew or should have known that the vehicle did not have liability insurance coverage is still a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2. The same penalties as above will apply to a non-driver who is charged with allowing another to drive without insurance. The state will need to prove that the registered owner of the vehicle knew or should have known that the vehicle was uninsured, and often our attorneys are able to negotiate a dismissal of this ticket as part of a plea agreement when the circumstances are right. Call us to see how we can help you.
Get Help From a NJ Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) Ticket Lawyer Near Newark NJ
Whenever you are issued a ticket with penalties as serious as Driving Without Insurance, you should consider hiring an attorney to fight for the best possible outcome. Our attorneys are skilled at negotiating plea agreements and have been able to prevent a license suspension for Driving Without Insurance (Uninsured Motorist) tickets in Municipal Courts such as Newark, Jersey City, and Elizabeth. We handle traffic tickets anywhere in New Jersey, so call us anytime at 1 (877) 450-8301 to find out how we can help.