6th Driving While Suspended 39:3-40 Violation Avoids Jail

Recently, I was retained by an individual who was facing his 6th offense for violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, Driving While Suspended or Driving While on the Revoked List. Not only was this my client’s sixth offense, but he was also not currently eligible for a restoration of his license. This client was facing a $1,000 fine, $750 in surcharges from the Motor Vehicle Commission, up to 90 days in County Jail (10 days of which are MANDATORY), an additional six month loss of license, and other ancillary penalties. Suffice to say, this client was facing serious and life-altering penalties if he was to be convicted of Driving While Suspended in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.

Attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are former County and Municipal Prosecutors who understand what is necessary to properly fight the State on your behalf. With roughly 100 years of combined legal experience, our law firm is well-equipped to handle your traffic or criminal matter. We will represent you before the Prosecutor and Judge on your Driving While Suspended Charges stemming from New Jersey and help you obtain the best possible result under the circumstances. Contact our office at 1-800-509-3333 and receive your complimentary initial consultation today.

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 Downgraded to an Expired License Violation

Through competent and legal-based reasoning, I was able to plea bargain with the prosecutor regarding my client’s alleged 6th Driving While Suspended violation, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. The result of this plea bargain was that the State would agree to amend his N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 to a N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 violation. As such, my client not only saved about $850 in court fines but he also saved about $500 in Motor Vehicle Commission surcharges.  He also, and more importantly avoided what would have been not more than 90 days in jail and not less than 10 days in County Jail. Lastly, he was able to avoid the license suspension that the judge could have tacked on to his current suspension. All things considered, my client walked away a free man, only having to pay the court $189.

Driving While Suspended Penalties

Please follow this LINK for an in-depth look at the penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey under 39:3-40

Speak Your Mind

*